top of page

Business Licensing in San Diego County, California

Unincorporated Areas: Business certificates (licenses) are not required for businesses operating in unincorporated areas of San Diego County since the requirement was eliminated by the Board of Supervisors in August 1998.

  • Unincorporated Communities: These include Alpine, Bonsall, Bonita (91902), Borrego Springs, Boulevard, Campo, Crest, Cuyamaca, Dehesa, Descanso, Dulzura, Fallbrook, Granite Hills, Harbison Canyon, Hidden Meadows, Jacumba, Jamul, Julian, Lake Morena, Lakeside, Pala, Pauma, Pine Valley, Potrero, Rainbow, Ramona, Rancho Santa Fe, Rancho San Diego, San Dieguito, Spring Valley, Sweetwater, Tecate, Twin Oaks Valley, Valle de Oro, Valley Center, Warner Springs.

  • Compliance: While a business license isn't needed from the County, businesses must adhere to relevant rules and regulations. Find more information on rules, regulations, and permits at the State of California Business Portal CalGold.

  • Incorporated Cities: Businesses operating within city limits of incorporated cities (such as Carlsbad, Chula Vista, San Diego, Coronado, Del Mar, El Cajon, Encinitas, Escondido, Imperial Beach, La Mesa, Lemon Grove, National City, Oceanside, Poway, San Marcos, Santee, Solana Beach, and Vista) may still require a city-specific business license.

Requirements for Incorporated Cities Please be advised that incorporated cities may require a business license when conducting business within city limits. Applicants are encouraged to contact the respective city for rules and regulations governing their business license practices.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page